Your Guide on the Disparity Between DUI and DWI
Once you take a look at many countries then it is them that will have the same definition of DUI or driving under the influence and DWI or driving while impaired. It is this one that will not be applicable once you will go to Texas. Whenever the BAC that you have is .08% or more then it is you that will be charged with aggravated DWI in Texas. If you are asking what is aggravated DWI then it is a higher offense due to some circumstances. Some of the circumstances that will place you under an aggravated DWI charge are a BAC of .15% or higher, previous DWI conviction, there is an open container of alcohol in your vehicle, there is a child in your car at the time you’re pulled over for drunk driving, you cause an accident while driving drunk that resulted in serious injury or death.
If you are wondering what is aggravated DWI and the difference that it has with DIU then the main factor is age. For those individuals that are under the age of 21, it is them that will be charged with DUI. It is DWI that will be the charge once an individual will exceed this age limit. IT is DWI that can still be charged regardless of the age limit. This can happen especially when the individual exceeds the required BAC level and has caused serious injury or death. It is the charges that can increase to aggravated DWI depending on the circumstances.-what is aggravated DWI
You also will need to know about what is aggravated DWI and the penalties. A Class B misdemeanor is what you are able to get especially if it is your first offense for a common DWI. Due to this one, it is you that will need to pay a fine of up to $2,000. Your license will also be suspended for up to one year and you can have a jail time of up to 180 days which is a possibility. For those that will be charged with aggravated DWI then the penalties will be heavier.
If you have caused an accident which resulted in death then it is you that can have to get felony charge which is a serious case. Givng you 20 years jail time and fines of up to $10,000 is what this can result into. An accident that resulted to injury is a third-degree felony charge. Once this will be your charge then it is you that can have 10 years of jail time and fines up to $10,000.-what is aggravated DWI
Once you have been charged with either DUI, DWI or aggravated DWI then it is important that you will be seeking legal counsel right away. Whenever you are able to get the services if these experts then it is them that will help you get through the legal proceedings.-what is aggravated DWI